Where Are We?
The original boundaries for the Sacred Heart Parish were: "From the top of Mt. Rainier along the crest of the Cascade Mountains to the Summit of Mount Adams to the top of Mount St. Helens and back again." Was there any other church in America that had such distinctive and visible corner stakes for its boundaries? (From the 1994 parish pictorial directory prepared by Loren Lane.)
Mt. Ranier from Highway 7.

Mt. Rainier seen along Highway 7 west of Mineral.

Take a look at a Space Shuttle image of the Parish and its volcanoes. We are along the Cowlitz River valley between these giants. You can see Rife Lake in the photo.

There is also an aerial photo of Morton taken by the USGS in 1994 through TerraServer.

We are located in Southwestern Washington State, in the eastern part of Lewis County. We are in a rural area, in the foot hills of the Cascade Mountains, and near several famous volcanoes. Mt. Rainier National Park is immediately north of the parish, and Mt. St. Helens National Monument is immediately south, along with the Gifford Pinchot National Forest. (Mt. St. Helens is the volcano that exploded May 18, 1980.) Mt. Adams is to the southeast. Our three communities are along US Highway 12 from Ethel to White Pass. The Yakima area is to our immediate east. (Morton is at about 1100 feet. The hills around us are at about 3,000 feet. Nearby Mountain heights go up from there, all the way to Mt. Rainier's 14,000 feet.)  Also, look at the towns of Lewis County page at the Lewis County GenWeb site. If you would like to compare the parish map below to the deanery map, click on the map.

To visit

Take Highway 12 east from I-5. After you pass Silver Creek and cross Mayfield Lake watch for the DeGoede Bulb Farm just before Mossyrock. To visit St. Yves turn left at the blinker light (map). From Tacoma, take Highway 7 which ends in Morton. Sacred Heart Church is at the courner of Seventh and Adams in Morton (map). We also have mass at the Packwood Presbyterian Church every Saturday. People coming from the east take Highway 12 after leaving Yakima and cross White Pass. Be sure to look at the WSDOT pass cam at White Pass.  You can also look for information on construction projects.

Site map of all web pages.
The East Lewis County Catholic Community