The Way of the Cross

There is no set form for the prayers and meditations used in this devotion. You may pick from one of the following. When you finish one station, scroll down to the text of the next one. To see the next image click on the next station's link in the image frame.

1. Cardinal Newman's long meditations.

2. Cardinal Newman's shorter meditations.

3. The stations by F.X.Lansance

4. Rutter's 1875 Stations of the Cross.

The Sabat Mater
an English translation of a traditional hymn often used at the Stations of the Cross.
For a very brief set of texts, try the Salesian Way of the Cross.
(To view this page without frames click here.)

The way of the cross, also known as the Stations of the Cross, are a way to pray and meditate on Christ's sacrifice for us. It is divided into fourteen stations from the time He was condemned to his burial. This devotion has been long encouraged by the church, and is especially useful during lent. (See Via Crucis, The Way of the Cross, quoting the Vatican Congregation for Divine Worship, Directory on Popular Piety and Liturgy.)

The way one usually would pray this devotion would be at church where 14 crosses or images would be displayed on the walls of the church. An individual would go from station to station, like someone would if they visited the actual sites in the Holy Land. If there was a group, the leader would go from station to station. However, one can pray this devotion without going to a place where the stations are displayed, and you can do the same here. (For more see a short description of the stations or see Via Crucis, with its contemporary photos of the Holy Land route, but it's slow.) The US National Conference of Bishops has a version of the stations based on text from Pope John Paul II. To consider some ways to get more out of the lenten season, see the links at Lent.

You may also view the Key of Heaven version of the Way of the Cross with black and white graphics and no frames, or just look at the graphics.